Cathedral Square Precinct
26 September – 7 October 2017

The fourth iteration of Proximity Festival took place across multiple locations in Boorloo (Perth), with intimate one-on-one experiences embedded into the daily happenings of the Perth Town Hall, Cathedral, The State Buildings, cafes and outdoor surrounds.

Audiences were invited to search for Warhol’s tragic muse, celebrate black matriarchy through power-laden rap, find love in high places, listen closely to the history embedded in the plants and take a backseat ride through the Australian landscape.

Proximity’s 2017 program featured nine new 20-minute intimate performances, a series of workshops, morning conversations and exhibition of Proximity’s archives, featuring over 52 performances in partnership with Live Art Development Agency’s Study Room.

In the lead up to the Festival artists participated in a two-week Lab at Cathedral Square December 2016, led by the curators and guest provocateur Jeff Khan of Performance Space.

Download the 2017 Festival Guide

Artists Cigdem Aydemir (NSW), Hannah Brontë (QLD), Mike Bianco (USA/WA), Liam Colgan (WA),Martyn Coutts (VIC),Rachael Dease (WA),  Jen Jamieson (WA), Nat Randall (NSW), Tyrone Robinson (WA)

Curators Sarah Rowbottam and Kelli McCluskey
Guest Provocateur Jeff Khan
Producer Megan Roberts
Production Manager Benjamin Kontoulis
Online Marketing Coordinator Tim Green
Stage Manager Donelle Gardiner
FOH & Operations Manager Jessica Harlond-Kenny
Mentors Jeff Khan, SarahRowbottam, Kelli McCluskey
Photos Matt Sav
Documentation Andrew Samson, Gavin Repton, Dan Grant
Photography & Lead Design PAVLOVA
Map Design Tim Green
Artist Assistants Emma Fishwick, Tim Green, Isabella Stone, ClareTestoni, Bernadette Lewis, Storm Helmore
Install Adam Broadby, Tron Tran, Elliot Chambers

Ushers Chandler Abrahams, Mustafa Al mahdi, Joshua Allen, Bridget Bathgate, Chris Bell, Kristian Bentley, Ravenna Bouckaert,Davis Burke, Alira Callaghan, Natsumide Dianous, Angela Donlan, Michelle Endersbee, Sarah Gatti, BenjaminGill, McKenzie Goldsmith, Noemie Huttner Koros, Janine Labrador, Jess Moyle, Phoebe Mulcahy, Casey Offer, Charlotte Otton, Holly Pooley, Georgia Smith, Louis Spencer, Zoe Street, Laura Strobech, Alex Thorburn, Rachel Williams, Rachael Woodward

Slide 1